NEUMAN & ESSER GROUP

External service 4.0 through AEM Forms und Microsoft Dynamics CRM

External service 4.0 through AEM Forms

The NEUMAN & ESSER Family Company near Aachen is a manufacturer of compressors and grinding plants. AEM Forms supports the service technicians who work on site at the customer's premises and accelerates administrative processes. Mobile forms, digital signatures, task management, document protection - AEM Forms makes it possible.

NEUMAN & ESSER GROUP

NEUMAN & ESSER, a company founded in 1830 and based in Aachen, is a manufacturer of compressors and grinding plants. The plants of NEUMAN & ESSER are mainly used by companies in the oil and gas, chemical and petrochemical, food industry and renewable energy sectors. NEUMAN & ESSER is globally positioned and maintains 25 operating companies in Europe, Asia, North and South America and Africa.

NEUMAN & ESSER GROUP & Adobe

The history of Adobe and NEUMAN & ESSER goes back to 2014, when NEUMAN & ESSER introduced Adobe LiveCycle technology for document protection. For as one of the world's leading compressor manufacturers, NEUMAN & ESSER has a large number of documents worthy of protection, such as assembly instructions or construction plans. Via Adobe LiveCycle Rights Management, these were protected with a policy which regulates the access and editing rights to the document: Who may open the document, what may the person do with the document (print, edit, view only) and how long is the document valid (30 days, until 31.12. etc).

 

Three years later, in 2017, NEUMAN & ESSER wanted to replace the previous form standard, Microsoft Infopath, as this technology was discontinued by Microsoft. In addition, NEUMAN & ESSER still has various forms that were only available as print forms due to their complexity. These too were to be digitalised with the introduction of a new form solution. At NEUMAN & ESSER, forms are used in particular in the service unit, i.e. in the maintenance and commissioning of systems.

 

Since NEUMAN & ESSER's equipment is also used in remote areas, such as on drilling platforms or in well-shielded production facilities, the new forms solution had to be absolutely offline-capable. For this reason, the Adaptive Forms Technology of AEM Forms in combination with the AEM Forms App was evaluated within the scope of a Proof of Concepts (PoC). In the future, service technicians should be equipped with a tablet on which they have all the necessary forms and documents digitally with them using an app. The PoC, which was carried out by eggs unimedia, was intended to prove that all technical (e.g. offline capability) and functional requirements (such as the use of large and nested tables) could be met and that ease of use for service technicians was guaranteed. The result was positive, as no requirement arose in the PoC that could not be implemented. In 2017, for example, Adobe LiveCycle Rights Management was migrated to the full Adobe Experience Manager Forms platform.

Implementation

In the foreground of the project was the "enablement" of NEUMAN & ESSER, because the employees in the IT and forms departments wanted to implement the project as far as possible independently. For this reason, a training concept was defined, within the framework of which different knowledge carriers in the specialist area and in the IT at NEUMAN & ESSER were built up. The project team at NEUMAN & ESSER included a product owner, two form designers, a power user for internal training and documentation as well as an employee in IT for interface preparation, server support and requirements definition. Depending on the role, eggs unimedia had the appropriate training at hand.

The experts of eggs unimedia were mainly consulting during the project, only a few more complex tasks such as the implementation of the project "checklist" were mostly realized by eggs unimedia. Because this project required major adaptations of the Adaptive Form, adjustments of some control elements as well as a data transformation (nested data should be transformed in a straight line).

Mehrwerte durch AEM Forms

As part of the AEM Forms introduction, the process "timesheet" was digitized and automated. This resulted in significantly faster throughput times, enormous time savings in the office and on the construction site, more flexibility for the service technicians and a reduction in the potential for errors.

A further project was the introduction of digital assembly reports. For this, a service employee requests an assembly report for a customer project in Microsoft Dynamics CRM. The assembly report is opened in the task management interface (workspace) of AEM Forms and the relevant order information from Microsoft Dynamics is loaded into the form via a point of contact. The service employee can then divide assembly workers into a group in the AEM Forms workspace and assign tasks to them. Fitters document their activities on site in the digital assembly report on their tablet device. AEM Forms can be used to generate a layout PDF form from an HTML form, which is then transferred to Sharepoint for archiving. The data from the form is transferred to Microsoft Dynamics and the customer receives a copy of the assembly report as a PDF by e-mail. What used to involve many manual steps is now completely digital and workflow-supported.

Other projects where AEM Forms is driving digitization at NEUMAN & ESSER are customer surveys, mileage recording or digitization of data sheets.

There is a machine-specific data sheet for each machine produced and commissioned by NEUMAN & ESSER. Currently, about 2/3 of the data sheets are still encrypted in an IMS (Integrated Management System). However, since 2014, all new data sheets are maintained in the more modern and project-specific "dashboards", where they can be requested by technicians if required. As soon as a document leaves a dashboard, it is protected "on-the-fly" with a rights management policy to safeguard it from unauthorized access.

Due to the long history of NEUMAN & ESSER's business, the majority of the machines put into operation worldwide do not yet have a dashboard. However, AEM Forms also provides support here: As soon as a service technician requires information on a machine whose data sheet is not yet available in the dashboard, AEM Forms provides an input mask for creating a new dashboard. In this dashboard, the service technician enters the most important machine data and digitizes the technical information of the machine in this way. The data is then stored away in an SQL database and linked to the data sheets.

What comes next?

In the future, further systems are to be linked to AEM Forms, additional form processes are to be mapped via the platform and on-site employees on construction sites are to be supported even better. In addition, production employees who do not have their own PC workstations will be able to use AEM Forms via handheld devices.

Challenges

A form process in the service unit of NEUMAN & ESSER is usually multi-stage and often goes beyond national borders. Many forms were already digital in the past, but the Infopath forms did not offer digital signatures, no acceptable print view of the HTML form and they were not mobile-capable. More complex form processes were often still completely analogue.

In the past, for example, a technician on site filled out a time sheet manually with several coloured carbon copies. He had the time sheet confirmed by the customer and obtained his signature. Some of the time sheets were sent by post from the place of work to the NEUMAN & ESSER headquarters and each copy went to its destination depending on the colour. The time sheets were checked in the scheduling department, a note was made in the CRM service calendar system and finally forwarded to the order processing department by in-house mail. In the order processing department, the orders were sorted according to orders and expenses, the data were transferred to a database, time recording in SAP and the preparation and execution of the invoicing.

Solution at a glance

Adobe Marketing Cloud with

  • Adobe Experience Manager Forms

Results

  • Infopath and paper forms could be replaced
  • Mobile devices are supported
  • Error potential was drastically reduced
  • The mileage recording is an enormous work relief for the controlling department, since e-mails, Excel and manual data transfers are eliminated
  • Process throughput times became faster
  • Service staff can call up installation instructions from outside the company via a tablet device. Previously, they needed a PC and a VPN connection.
  • The retrieved documents are protected and thus worthless for third parties.

NEUMAN & ESSER GROUP

Außendienst 4.0 dank AEM Forms und Microsoft Dynamics CRM

Außendienst 4.0 Dank AEM Forms

Das Familienunternehmen NEUMAN & ESSER aus der Nähe von Aachen ist ein Hersteller von Kompressoren und Mahlanlagen. AEM Forms unterstützt die Servicetechniker, die vor Ort beim Kunden arbeiten und beschleunigt Verwaltungsprozesse. Mobile Formulare, Digitale Unterschriften, Aufgabenverwaltung, Dokumentenschutz - AEM Forms macht's möglich.

IBB Logo

 

Kundeninfo

Branche: Industrieunternehmen

Umsatz: ca. 238 Mio. EUR

Mitarbeiter: ca. 1.100

Projektumfang

Requirements Engineering

Strategieberatung

Schulungen

Design

AEM Entwicklung

Integration

NEUMAN & ESSER GROUP

Das 1830 gegründete Familienunternehmen NEUMAN & ESSER mit Gründungssitz in Aachen ist ein Hersteller von Kompressoren und Mahlanlagen. Die Anlagen von NEUMAN & ESSER werden vor allem von Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Öl und Gas, Chemie und Petrochemie, Lebensmittelindustrie sowie Erneuerbare Energien eingesetzt. NEUMAN & ESSER ist global aufgestellt und unterhält 25 operative Firmen in Europa, Asien, Nord- und Südamerika sowie in Afrika.

NEUMAN & ESSER GROUP & Adobe

Die Historie von Adobe und NEUMAN & ESSER geht zurück ins Jahr 2014. Damals führte NEUMAN & ESSER die Adobe LiveCycle Technologie für den Dokumentenschutz ein. Denn als einer der weltweit führenden Kompressorenhersteller hat NEUMAN & ESSER eine Vielzahl schützenswerter Dokumente, wie Montageanleitungen oder Baupläne. Über Adobe LiveCycle Rights Management wurden diese mit einer Policy, welche die Zugriffs- und Bearbeitungsrechte am Dokument regelt, geschützt: Wer darf das Dokument öffnen, was darf die Person mit dem Dokument machen (drucken, bearbeiten, nur sehen) und wie lange ist das Dokument gültig (30 Tage, bis zum 31.12. etc).

Drei Jahre später, im Jahr 2017, wollte NEUMAN & ESSER den bisherigen Formularstandard, Microsoft Infopath, ablösen, da diese Technologie seitens Microsofts abgekündigt wurde. Zudem gibt es bei NEUMAN & ESSER noch diverse Formulare, die aufgrund ihrer Komplexität nur als Printformular verfügbar waren. Auch diese sollten mit der Einführung einer neuen Formularlösung digitalisiert werden. Formulare kommen bei NEUMAN & ESSER insbesondere in der Service Einheit, d.h. bei der Wartung und Inbetriebnahme von Anlagen, zum Einsatz.

Da die Anlagen von NEUMAN & ESSER auch in abgelegenen Gegenden, wie z.B. auf Bohrinseln oder in gut abgeschirmten Produktionsanlagen, verwendet werden, musste die neue Formularlösung absolut offlinefähig sein. Daher wurde im Rahmen eines Proof of Concepts (PoC) die Adaptive Forms Technologie von AEM Forms in Verbindung mit der AEM Forms App evaluiert. Denn zukünftig sollten die Service Techniker mit einem Tablet ausgestattet werden, auf welchem sie mittels einer App alle benötigten Formulare und Dokumente digital dabeihaben. Im Rahmen des PoCs, den eggs unimedia durchführte, sollte nachgewiesen werden, dass alle technischen (z.B. Offlinefähigkeit) und funktionalen Anforderungen (wie bspw. die Verwendung großer und verschachtelter Tabellen) erfüllt werden können und eine einfache Bedienbarkeit für Servicetechniker gewährleistet ist. Das Ergebnis war positiv, denn im Rahmen des PoCs tauchte keine Anforderung auf, die nicht umgesetzt werden konnte. So erfolgte 2017 die Migration von Adobe LiveCycle Rights Management auf die vollumfängliche Adobe Experience Manager Forms Plattform.

Herausforderung

Ein Formularprozess in der Serviceeinheit von NEUMAN & ESSER ist in der Regel mehrstufig und geht häufig auch über Ländergrenzen hinweg. Viele Formulare waren bereits in der Vergangenheit digital, doch die Infopath Formulare boten keine digitalen Unterschriften, keine akzeptable Druckansicht des HTML-Formulars und sie waren nicht mobilfähig. Komplexere Formularprozesse waren häufig noch komplett analog.

In der Vergangenheit füllte beispielsweise ein Monteur vor Ort händisch einen Stundenzettel mit mehreren, farbigen Durchschlägen aus. Den Stundenzettel ließ er sich vom Kunden bestätigen und holte sich dafür dessen Unterschrift ein. Stundenzettel wurden zum Teil mit der Post vom Einsatzort an die NEUMAN & ESSER Zentrale geschickt und jeder Durchschlag ging je nach Farbe an ihren Bestimmungsort. In der Disposition wurden die Stundenzettel überprüft, ein Vermerk im CRM Service Kalender System getätigt und schließlich per Hauspost an die Auftragsabwicklung weitergeleitet. In der Auftragsabwicklung erfolgte die Sortierung nach Aufträgen und Spesen, die Datenübertragung in eine Datenbank, die Zeiterfassung in SAP und die Vorbereitung und Durchführung der Rechnungsstellung.

Umsetzung

Im Vordergrund des Projekts stand das „Enablement“ von NEUMAN & ESSER, denn die Mitarbeiter in der IT und im Formularbereich wollten das Projekt weitestgehend eigenständig umsetzen. Daher wurde ein Schulungskonzept definiert, im Rahmen dessen unterschiedliche Wissensträger im Fachbereich und in der IT bei NEUMAN & ESSER aufgebaut wurden. Zum Projektteam bei NEUMAN & ESSER gehörten ein Produkt Owner, zwei Formulardesigner, eine Poweruserin für interne Schulungen und Dokumentation sowie ein Mitarbeiter in der IT für Schnittstellenaufbereitung, Serverbetreuung und Anforderungsdefiniton. Je nach Rolle, hatte eggs unimedia die passende Schulung zur Hand.

Die Experten von eggs unimedia standen im Projekt hauptsächlich beratend zur Seite, nur wenige komplexere Aufgaben wie die beispielsweise die Umsetzung des Projekts „Checkliste“ wurden größtenteils von eggs unimedia umgesetzt. Denn dieses Projekt erforderte größere Anpassungen des Adaptive Forms, Anpassungen einiger Steuerelemente sowie eine Datentransformation (geschachtelte Daten sollten geradlinig transformiert werden).

Mehrwerte durch AEM Forms

ehemaliger Stundenzettel

Im Rahmen der AEM Forms Einführung wurde der Prozess "Stundenzettel" digitalisiert und automatisiert. Dadurch erreichte man deutliche schnellere Durchlaufzeiten, eine enorme Zeitersparnis im Büro und auf der Baustelle, mehr Flexibilität für die Servicetechniker und eine Verringerung des Fehlerpotentials.

Ein weiteres Projekt war die Einführung digitaler Montageberichte. Dafür fordert ein Servicemitarbeiter im Microsoft Dynamics CRM einen Montagebericht für ein Kundenprojekt an. Der Montagebericht wird in der Aufgabenverwaltungsoberfläche (Workspace) von AEM Forms geöffnet und über eine Schnittstelle werden die relevanten Auftragsinformationen aus Microsoft Dynamics in das Formular geladen. Anschließend kann der Servicemitarbeiter im AEM Forms Workspace Monteure in eine Gruppe einteilen und dieser Aufgaben zuweisen. Monteure dokumentieren Ihre Tätigkeiten vor Ort im digitalen Montagebericht auf ihrem Tablet-Device. Über AEM Forms kann aus einem HTML Formular ein gelayoutetes PDF-Formular erzeugt werden, das zur Archivierung an Sharepoint übergeben wird. Die Daten aus dem Formular werden an Microsoft Dynamics übergeben und der Kunde bekommt eine Kopie des Montageberichts als PDF per E-Mail. Was früher viele manuelle Schritte beinhaltete, ist heute komplett digital und Workflow-gestützt.

Weitere Projekte, wo AEM Forms die Digitalisierung bei NEUMAN & ESSER vorantreibt, sind die Kundenumfrage, Kilometerstandserfassung oder Digitalisierung von Datenblättern.

Für jede Maschine, die von NEUMAN & ESSER produziert und in Betrieb genommen wurde, gibt es ein maschinenspezifisches Datenblatt. Aktuell liegen noch ca. 2/3 der Datenblätter verschlüsselt in einem IMS (Integrated Management System). Seit 2014 werden jedoch alle neuen Datenblätter in den moderneren und projektspezifischen „Dashboards“ gepflegt, wo sie von Technikern bei Bedarf anfordert werden können. Sobald ein Dokument ein Dashboard verlässt, wird es „on-the-fly“ mit einer Rights Management Policy geschützt, um es vor unbefugtem Zugriff zu schützen.

Aufgrund der weit zurückreichenden Geschäftstätigkeit von NEUMAN & ESSER, verfügt die Mehrheit der weltweit in Betrieb genommenen Maschinen noch über kein Dashboard. Doch auch hier unterstützt AEM Forms: Denn sobald ein Service Techniker Informationen zu einer Maschine benötigt, deren Datenblatt noch nicht im Dashboard verfügbar ist, stellt AEM Forms eine Eingabemaske zur Anlage eines neuen Dashboards zur Verfügung. In dieser erfasst der Servicetechniker die wichtigsten Maschinendaten und digitalisiert die technischen Informationen der Maschine auf diese Weise. Die Daten werden anschließend in einer SQL Datenbank weggespeichert und mit den Datenblättern verknüpft.

Ergebnisse

 

  • Infopath- und Papierformulare konnten abgelöst werden
  • Mobile Endgeräte werden unterstützt
  • Fehlerpotential wurde drastisch reduziert
  • Die Kilometerstandserfassung ist eine enorme Arbeitserleichterung für den Bereich Controlling, da Emails, Excel und manuelle Datenübertragungen wegfallen
  • Prozessdurchlaufzeiten wurden schneller
  • Service Mitarbeiter können von außerhalb über ein Tablet-Device Montageanleitungen abrufen. Früher benötigten sie dafür einen PC und eine VPN-Verbindung.
  • Die abgerufenen Dokumente sind geschützt und somit für Dritte wertlos

Wie geht es weiter?

Zukünftig sollen weitere Systeme mit AEM Forms verbunden werden, zusätzliche Formularprozesse über die Plattform abgebildet werden und die Mitarbeiter vor Ort auf den Baustellen noch besser unterstützt werden. Zudem sollen Produktionsmitarbeiter, die keine eigenen PC-Arbeitsplätze haben, über Handheld Devices AEM Forms nutzen könnten.